Author Topic: [AZ] Operations Audition (no hardware required)  (Read 4920 times)

Offline azslow3

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1437
[AZ] Operations Audition (no hardware required)
« on: January 12, 2016, 11:31:16 PM »
Note: you will need 2 sound cards to use that feature or other way to use default windows sound system in parallel with Sonar. You should be able for example play YouTube while Sonar is in focus.
Note: the preset is for AZ Controller v0.4r2 or later

The preset was created to audition operations in sonar using Text To Speach (TTS) engine (SAPI5).

Functionality:
  • Transport state is announced when changed
  • Marker name is pronounced when "Now time" cursor is moved to different marker
  • Strip name with mute, solo, record arm, echo, mono, automation write enable statuses (when set) pronounced when:
    • Strip in focus is changed
    • Strip type in focus is changed
    • Mute/solo/etc. statuses are changed for the strip in focus
  • Values for focused strip volume and pan are announced when changed

Installation:
  • Install AZ Controller plug-in first (download the latest release version and run it).
  • Insert AZ Controller in the "Control Surfaces" section of SONAR preferences, set "None" and input and output (important, you can not change to None once plug-in is in the list)
  • Open Cakewalk Plug-in Manager from Utilities menu. Select Control Surfaces, then AZ Controller. Press Import, select the file attached to this post and press Open
  • Open AZ Controller configuration dialog (from Sonar Control bar or Utilities menu)
  • In the Presets drop-down box choose "Audition"

EDIT: 12.01.2016 - extended
« Last Edit: December 21, 2016, 12:53:25 PM by azslow3 »

Offline azslow3

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1437
Re: [AZ] Operations Audition (no hardware required)
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2016, 06:55:07 PM »
Note: v0r4.2b300 or later is required for that preset.

The same, but with Joystick (gamepad) controller:
  • Clipping is indicated every 5 seconds when happened
  • L1 - with Shift reset current strip volume to unity
  • L2 - shift (see other buttons for shifted function description)
  • X - Play/Stop, with shift Mute
  • Circle - Record, with shift Arm
  • Triangle - Previous Marker, with shift Echo
  • Square - Next Marker, with shift Solo
  • Options - Mode change. Without shift change between strip selection and effect editing, with shift change between effects operations and input/output selection. See modes.
  • Share - Mode specific button
  • R1 - playback metronome on/off, with shift Mono/Stereo
  • R2 - recording metronome on/off, with shift Write automation

In Strip selection mode:
Share - without Shift switch between tracks and buses, with Shift pronounce current audio level (not precise)
Left and Right - without Shift focus previous or next strip, with shift select previous or next FX
Up and Down - without Shift change Volume, with Shift change Pan

In effect operations mode:
Share - without Shift insert effect from the effects tree before currently selected effect, with Shift delete currently selected effect
Up, Down, Left and right - navigate throw effects tree

In effect editing mode:
Share - without Shift audition current parameter name and value, with shift open effect user interface
Left and Right - without Shift select effect parameter, with Shift change Cakewalk preset for effect. Note that it opens effect UI but it can not pronounce the preset name.
Up and Down - change current effect parameter

In IO selection mode:
Share - say current settings
Left and Right - change the output
Up and Down - change the input
« Last Edit: January 22, 2016, 08:15:41 PM by azslow3 »

Offline gadeuvall2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: [AZ] Operations Audition (no hardware required)
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2016, 08:54:07 PM »
So far, the controller works very well.  I'm happy to report that theverything is working as described.

Offline azslow3

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1437
Re: [AZ] Operations Audition (no hardware required)
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2016, 10:16:53 PM »
Thanks for the confirmation. I have removed "Incomplete, work in progress" warning from the description post.