AZSlow

AZ Controller plug-in for Cakewalk SONAR => Presets => Topic started by: azslow3 on April 25, 2016, 05:31:43 PM

Title: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on April 25, 2016, 05:31:43 PM
Note: AZCtrl v0.5r0b310 or later is required
Note: for preset 1.1 AZCtrl v0.5r4b357 or later is required


YouTube installation and short demonstration video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5Gl61MvEuQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5Gl61MvEuQ)


Functions

Tab One (Strip):
 * sync button to (re)sync with Sonar
 * one strip control, with volume, pan, mute, solo, echo, arm, automation read/write
 * transport control with Markers (buttons), Jogger (measures), Stop/Play/Rec
 * current "Now time" display, color is changed during Play and Record
 * Current strip selection, current strip button toggle between Tracks and Buses (color indication). Selection is synced with the focused track in Sonar (bidirectionally).

Tab Two (Mix):
 * Time/Stop/Play/Rec as in the Tab One
 * 16 channels (WAI indicated in sonar), pressing channel name focus it (in sonar and so for Tab one), Mute/Solo can be "swiped" for fast operations.
 * No separated switch for buses, but switching in the Tab One and Sonar also affect the list
 * Next/Previous bank (long press) or shift to next/previous (short tap) buttons

Tab Three (ACT):
 * current ACT map in focus is displayed, it can be changed in Sonar independent from focused track
 * switching to this Tab from other automatically focus the first FX in the bin
 * FX button round throw all FX effects for focused tracks, including ProChannel modules
 * Synth button focus corresponding to the track Synth
 * Faders / Knobs buttons on the left/right side select corresponding parameter for control by the (only) fader. Current parameter is indicated separately on top of the faders.
 * Bank change buttons show next/previous 8 ACT faders/knobs
 * 8 ACT buttons work directly, with color indication


Tab Four (Send), v1.1:
 * current strip with switches between strips and strip types (as in the Strip tab)
 * transport section (as in the Strip tab)
 * 4 sends from the current strip, including on/off (press target name to switch), pre/post, send volume and pan


Requirements
 * Sonar (any version, tested with X2 and 2016)
 * (i/A)Phone with TouchOSC from http://hexler.net/software/touchosc (http://hexler.net/software/touchosc)
 * AZ Controller (see minimal version on the top)

Installation
 * Close Sonar
 * Install AZ Controller (download required version and run installer)
 * Download attached ".SPP" file
 * Start Sonar
 * From "Utilities" Sonar menu, start "CakeWalk Plug-in Manager", select "Control Surfaces", "AZ Controller", "Import..." and choose SPP file.
 * In Sonar Preferences / Control Surfaces add "AZ Controller" with both Input and Output set to None
 * From Utilities menu, open AZ Controller preferences, select "OSC Phone" preset (top left corder)
 * download attached ".touchosc" file, load it into TouchOSC (see its documentation how to do this)
 * start TouchOSC
 * in the AZCtrl Options Tab, press "Configure" in the "OSC" section. Check "Enabled". Put the ports you see to/from TouchOSC configuration. Put the Host you see into TouchOSC configuration. Press Ok in the AZCtrl OSC configuration dialog (observe "Active, 0 clients").
 * Press Done in TouchOSC. Observer "Active, 1 clients" in the AZCtrl and working preset (with some luck  ;) )
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone, Adding several buttons/functions to TouchOSC
Post by: balinas on February 14, 2017, 08:56:15 PM
Alexey,

I have installed TouchOSC on my phone and can easily connect with Sonar PLT using AZ controller and your OSC-Phone-1-0 layout.  Everything works as you have set up.  I would like to add several buttons at this time.  One for 'UNDO' and one for 'place new marker.'

In TouchOSC editor, I can make the rectangle boxes and add the labels.  I am not sure how to now get TouchOSC to send the correct messages. 

Can you walk me through this step by step?

thanks!

Bart
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on February 14, 2017, 10:36:45 PM
Hi Bart,

Nice to know you have decided to give it a try!

In TouchOSC the simplest way to define new button is to copy existing. Let say "Stop" button. It has 2 elements, the button and the label. Copy/paste the button first. In the left side, change the Name to "Undo" (not really important) and "/stop" to "/undo" in the OSC section (that is important). Copy/paste the label then. Also change the name, OSC (to "/undo/label") and the text.

On the AZ Controller side, follow "Quick start" step-by-step tutorial in the Manual section. With the following changes: you start from current OSC preset instead of "blank", during hardware learning, press the button on your phone (you should see "/undo" in the "Last MIDI event") and press "Assign OSC" instead of "Assign MIDI". As the action, you need only one (instead of 2 in the tutorial): "Command" "<Menu>" "Edit | Undo".

In can be a bit hard to define your first button, but once done you will be able to add another one in no time (tip: you can use "Dup." button in the "Options"/"Hardware controls", with your first button selected).

Please do not hesitate to ask if something is still unclear, any questions are welcome.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: balinas on February 15, 2017, 01:39:07 AM
Thanks!  That works well.  I have added a small 'undo' and Marker box.  I will also need to add a small 'enter' to be able to clear the Marker dialogue box.

This will also help with redoing a few of the MCU PRO buttons.

I will play with this for a while and see what else I 'need' when sitting back in the 'isolation' room.

thanks,   -Bart
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: balinas on February 15, 2017, 01:42:48 AM
HA!  the time difference was screwing with my head there for a minute!  I was wondering, 'How did he answer me "yesterday" to a post I just did today?!'

Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on February 15, 2017, 08:07:59 AM
HA!  the time difference was screwing with my head there for a minute!  I was wondering, 'How did he answer me "yesterday" to a post I just did today?!'
:)
That you can try to fix in Profile / Modify Profile / Look an layout / Time offset.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: balinas on February 18, 2017, 10:35:09 PM
I have added an 'UNDO', 'New Marker', and 'Enter' buttons for the TouchOSC.  They work well.  Seems easy to add the simple push button/single command switch.  eventually I would like to add a new page to your template that has an input level monitoring meter and a slider to adjust the input gain.  This is because from where I sit to record, the computer screen gets awfully small and hard to see.  And if the gain needs adjusting, I need to get up, navigate back to the computer, reset the gain, go back to the recording area, then try it out. 

Is this possible?  If eventually it is, what do you suggest that I look at next?

thanks,
Bart
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on February 19, 2017, 09:57:27 AM
Touch OSC has no direct support for level indicators, so it is better I create corresponding configuration. Please upload your current preset and I will add 4th page to it (otherwise you will have to redo your buttons).

With gain it depends from what you mean. Sonar track "gain" is digital, probably you want adjust the gain on your audio interface. Which interface you use? Most of them unfortunately have analog gain, but then you can not adjust it on computer as well. If it is MIDI adjustable, we can try to make it work.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: balinas on February 19, 2017, 10:51:08 PM
I am not sure what preset file to send back.  When I look at the preset folder, there are several files: MCU, Quick start, OSC Phone 1.0, and OSC Phone 1.0a.

None of these appear to have the file extension allowed to be sent.  The OSC Phone 1.0a is the saved configuration with the couple of added buttons.

What would i need to do to get this to you?

I understand the difference you describe between the digital gain in Sonar and the analog gain.  I am using a VS-100 for my Audio input.  The recording input meter signal alone would be a help, so that I can see if I am getting signals close to what I want.  I usually adjust the input gain on the VS-100 with the sensitivity knob, but having some ability to even tweak the digital gain in Sonar may help. 

thanks,

Bart
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on February 20, 2017, 10:05:22 AM
To save the preset:
1) open AZ Controller interface
2) in the top left corner, enter new name, f.e. "OSC with commands". Press Diskette icon to save it (internally)
3) open Cakewalk Plug-in Manager from Sonar utilities menu. Select "Control Surfaces" / "AZ Controlle" and press "Export"
4) select the file name and select the preset you have saved before in the lower list, press Save.

You can attach resulting .spp file to posts in this forum.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: balinas on February 20, 2017, 02:36:54 PM
Ok.  Here are the files attached.  The one labeled OSC_Phone_1_0a.touchosc is the template changes I made in TouchOSC editor.

thanks. 
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on February 21, 2017, 12:07:11 PM
I attach modified version. Please note that you need b356 or later version of AZ Controller (currently the test version, you can find in Downloads).

The implementation is a bit dirty, but should work. As I wrote, TouchOSC has no direct support for level indicators.

Also note that you have created some "orphaned" controls (Detached), I have not cleaned them.

May be we should check either we can digitally control the gain on VS100. On VS20 that is possible.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: balinas on February 21, 2017, 05:17:57 PM
I downloaded the b356 version of AZ controller and installed it.  The control surface dialog for AZ Controller confirms it is the b356 version.

I downloaded the two files in your last post, and brought up the latest TouchOSC template in the editor, and imported the lasted OSC with Commands into the plug in manager. 

The editor confirms the added 4th page.  The AZ Controller dialog box confirms the /gfader changes.  The Gain fader works in increasing/decreasing the digital input gain for the selected track.  The only thing I don't see is any input levels on the meter on the 4 th page of the TouchOSC template. 

The one mechanical slider on the VS-100 is currently response to the 'volume' control of the selected track.  This is probably set somewhere in the preset controller info that is in Sonar, but I don't know how to confirm or change that to having the slider change the input gain.  I know you can make the VS-100 a total ACT surface, but I believe in that mode it can't be used as an audio input device.

Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: balinas on February 21, 2017, 05:50:44 PM
With the 'gain' input working, I decided to start recording something.  Then all of a sudden the meters on the 4th page start working!  So I will work with this right now.  Not sure why it took a while to start, but it finally has.  I will play with this for a while, and let you know. 

thanks,

bart
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on February 21, 2017, 07:29:16 PM
If level it not working, you can "troubleshoot" that.

First of all, that is not "input level". It is the same level as in Sonar, so post fader.
Second, you should "switch" to the 4th page when communication is established. Switching pages is also a signal ("/1", ... "/4"), it set the "Page" state (you can check all states in the "Overview" tab).
Third, check that LvlLED states are changing when you start playback (again on the overview page).
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: balinas on February 21, 2017, 08:05:27 PM
Working well. Thanks.  I will probably add a couple of things to that 4 th page.  Duplication!  This is how control surfaces should have worked a while ago!
Let me know when you would like to get your wife flowers again.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on February 21, 2017, 08:53:38 PM
I forgot to add the feature I have in some other presets... Clipping indicator (which stay for a while in case engaged). Also I want to mention that levels here and in Sonar can be tuned in Sonar preferences. Particular colors and "levels" was chosen "randomly". That can be also tuned.

Flowers time will come soon, after we have moved in September, we have small garden outside  ;)
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 28, 2017, 07:32:44 AM
Hello everyone!!
I come from China. My English is not good。
I want to ask some questions.
I use Android phone, download the touchosc.
I want to add some buttons with the Clippers
Want to add a monitor button in the interface
Also want to add a bus to send clippers or delayed shipments such as reverberation
Thank you
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on March 28, 2017, 12:17:48 PM
Hello and welcome! 你好

I have not understood what you mean by the "buttons with the Clippers".
I have colleagues in the next office which can translate from Chinese if required. So if you can not explain that in other English words or by pictures, just write in your native language.

I have uploaded a new version (1.1) in the first post of this thread. Note that you need the latest version of AZ Controller to use it (b357).
New version has Echo (Monitor) button and Sends tab.

Please let me know if you spot any problems or need something else.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 28, 2017, 02:11:44 PM
 :) :)非常感谢您的回复,我下载了1.1版本的,里面新增的功能正是我所需要的,非常感谢 ;) ;) ;) ;)
我有一个1920x1080 11.6寸的Android 平板,请问您有没有打算做一个适合pad用的osc。
因为我想要是osc能在android pad上用的话那是非常酷的一件事
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on March 28, 2017, 03:24:54 PM
Thank you for the confirmation it works.

I do not have 1920x1080 device.

If you want, I can modify current phone preset for big screen. I can try to fit all 4 pages into one.
But creating specialized layout with many strips is significant task I am not ready to do right now.

In the mean time you can also try TouchDAW. It is not OSC based and has some limitations with Sonar. But it reasonably covers mixing task.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 28, 2017, 03:54:58 PM
非常感谢!!我非常期待你能做一个android pad大屏幕的适配,我可以帮你测试。谢谢!
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on March 28, 2017, 05:14:25 PM
I understand the layout is not optimal. You can try to use TouchOSC Editor to adjust it.
But as I wrote, adding more controls and developing reasonable layout is outside of my possibilities in the nearest future.

Also I have not found the way to rotate controls in the Editor. So the layout it vertical.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 28, 2017, 05:40:05 PM
你好!
我现在发现一个新的问题,当我安装好B357版本后,在SONAR里面添加好控制器之后。
右键选择发送到总线,SONAR就会报错关闭。我的操作系统是windows10 SONAR版本是SONAR Platinum 23.2.0.45 :)
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 28, 2017, 05:49:40 PM
非常感谢,在我的android pad上可以显示。
但是我希望大屏幕显示的内容是多轨道的,比如像touchDAW类似
图片这种,我觉得大屏幕能够多轨道这样才会更合理
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 28, 2017, 06:13:56 PM
你好azslow3!
如果我的问题描叙的不好你看不懂的话,我可以给你拍一个视频演示给你看,你可以留邮箱号码给我,我发到你邮箱,因为我们国家上不了youtube
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on March 29, 2017, 10:35:52 AM
I am really sorry you have problems with the last version. Please help me to identify it, I still could not reproduce it.
I have tried under Windows 10, Sonar 23.3.0 build 51 (yesterday release) following exactly your video.

Please try the following:
1) disable OSC in the "Options/OSC Configure/Enable" (uncheck it). Still crashing?
2) in the "Options" / "Tweak current configuration..." select "Reset configuration". Still crashing?
3) only in case (2) still crash, install previous release 0.5r3. Also crashing?

Note that preset 1.1 will not work with older versions of AZ Controller. I will have to re-make it with some previous version in case we can not pin the reason other way.

Excuse me for disturbing you with troubleshooting, but that is the only way I can fix the problem.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 29, 2017, 10:49:42 AM
我马上试试。我大胆的猜想,这个 错误有可能是因为我的操作系统windows10与SONAR是中文版本导致的?
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 29, 2017, 11:00:14 AM
你好!!我刚刚测试了,我把我的中文版本的SONAR卸载,重新安装英文版本的SONAR,那个问题解决了。这个错误是中文SONAR造成的?
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on March 29, 2017, 12:05:16 PM
There was several recent fixes in Sonar for bugs in localized versions only. There can be more.
It still can be a bug in AZ Controller. I will try to install Chinese version to reproduce.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 29, 2017, 12:12:51 PM
 :)非常棒!如果有需要我帮测试的,可以随时联系我,我会非常乐意帮你测试新版本的AZ 控制器,非常期待完善。
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on March 29, 2017, 01:35:11 PM
I can reproduce the crash under Chinese version!

I will analyze and eliminate the crash, but please give me some time.

Thank you for reporting and giving good hint how to reproduce!
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: azslow3 on March 29, 2017, 02:42:58 PM
The bug is in Sonar for Chinese locale. An attempt to get send pan text when it is centered crash Sonar.

I have modified SPP files (in the first post and FHD) so re-download them. _1_1p1 , for both SPP. TouchOSC layout is not changed.

Note that Sonar Control Surface is not localized. All not ASCII characters are printed as "?". Nothing I can do within AZ Controller, sorry.

Please confirm new presets no longer crash.

I will report the bug to Cakewalk.
Title: Re: [AZ] OSC Phone
Post by: lianganbin on March 29, 2017, 02:58:50 PM
!!!我下载了OSC_Phone_1_1p1.spp,重新安装SONAR中文版,已经可以正常工作了!!!
非常感谢!!谢谢!!