Author Topic: Using Arduino to control VSTI's  (Read 288 times)

Offline Simon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Using Arduino to control VSTI's
« on: June 05, 2020, 03:37:26 PM »
Hi,
Currently building an Arduino midi controller which in the end I want to use differing light amounts to control parameters on synths within CW.
I've got AZslow to run fine.....just trying to work out how to get it to control my synths.
Any advice much appreciated!  8)

Offline azslow3

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1318
Re: Using Arduino to control VSTI's
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2020, 06:51:42 PM »
It depends what exactly you want control and how you want switch synthes (if at all). It is hard to give advise till that is known. F.e.
- you want control fixed parameter set in one (or more) fixed plug-ins (f.e. synth 1 parameter 20 + synth 5 parameter 96 + etc.)
- you want control synth (or FX) in focus
- you want select the synth from the device (so, be able to switch from synth 1 to synth 2, etc)
Or something else...
 

Offline Simon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Using Arduino to control VSTI's
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2020, 07:09:33 PM »
Many thanks for the reply! A very well done with AZSlow!
If I could just change the parameters of one synth that would be great. F.E. one LDR to change say pitch and another LDR to change filter cutoff. Hope this explains  8)
Made good progress today with the Arduino hardware and is now very stable.

Offline azslow3

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1318
Re: Using Arduino to control VSTI's
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2020, 08:28:52 PM »
Make it work with "Quick start" first: http://www.azslow.com/index.php/topic,9.0.html

Change "Strip" Action to "ACT"/"Rotary"/1", focus some plug-in.
Click "AL" button (top right part in plug-in window), move device control, then move some parameter in plug-in, click "AL" again. Confirm in dialog.
That is the second approach in my previous list.

Offline Simon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Using Arduino to control VSTI's
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2020, 11:45:29 PM »
I'll try this tomorrow 😊

Offline Simon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Using Arduino to control VSTI's
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2020, 06:43:39 PM »
Not sure if this will work for me. I use Sonar 6, very old and can't find the 'AL'

Offline azslow3

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1318
Re: Using Arduino to control VSTI's
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2020, 08:31:58 PM »
I have no idea what was in Sonar 6. My first one was 8. If there was no ACT for plug-ins, you can try "Strip"+"FX"+"Value" list. If controlling plug-ins from surfaces was possible at all, that should work.
If your computer is not XP... you can install Cakewalk by BandLab (CbB). It is free.

Offline Simon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Using Arduino to control VSTI's
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2020, 02:35:44 PM »
Downloaded Bandlab and all seems to be working well.........Thanks!!! :)