Author Topic: Using AZ Controller for Cakewalk control of external audio mixer  (Read 750 times)

Offline norfolkmastering

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Using AZ Controller for Cakewalk control of external audio mixer
« Reply #30 on: August 01, 2020, 11:32:08 AM »
Hello Alexey

I am currently mapping out the MIDI control protocol which I will use to allow Cakewalk (via AZ Controller) to control my analogue mixer.

I need to be able to monitor the audio source which is selected to each track in Cakewalk.  I will use this data to control a source select matrix in my analogue mixer.

As a test, I set up a rotary control from my nektar MIDI keyboard/controller to select the audio source for Track 1 in Cakewalk.

Under the Logic tab, I have created three actions for this rotary control:-

- Track Input
Action Configuration 'Strip'
Track
Select Input

- Direct Linear, timeout touch
Action Configuration 'Value'
Direct Linear

- Parameter Value Monitor
Action Configuration 'Monitor'
Monitor parameter value

I can select the track input by moving the rotary control.

Next, I set up an Action for this control under the Feedback tab:-

- Ch7 CC:7 Use Value

But when I monitor this Feedback output using MIDI-OX, I get a constant CC value of 00 irrespective of the track source which has been selected.

Could you tell me if I have made an error in this configuration please?

Kind regards

Robert

Offline azslow3

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1318
Re: Using AZ Controller for Cakewalk control of external audio mixer
« Reply #31 on: August 03, 2020, 02:33:37 PM »
Hello Rebert,

I do not think someone has ever tried to use it... So that was in fact inconsistent. Please download b404, MIDI action should be fixed there.

Note that the value sent is (current input)/(max number of inputs)*127. "0" means "No input". So the last possible input is "127", no input is "0" and other inputs are in-between.
Since the number of available inputs in concrete setup can vary, that is rather meaningless value...

I would recommend to use:
1) separate from Cakewalk Input parameter (as I have written before for all parameters which do not have equivalent in Cakewalk)
or (if for some reason you want Cakewalk Input)
2) (a) define Friendly Names for inputs in Cakewalk preferences and enable use of them
    (b) define Software Set with "Unknown" + all possible input names
    (c) in the monitor, first use Text Value action to get the name of input, then use State By Text to find correct state in the set (preset with Unknown, just in case...) and then use State conditions to send predictable MIDI messages for particular inputs.

Cheers,
Alexey.

Offline norfolkmastering

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Using AZ Controller for Cakewalk control of external audio mixer
« Reply #32 on: August 05, 2020, 10:44:45 AM »
Hello Alexey

I downloaded B404 and the MIDI action is now working, thank you.

I agree that this is not a good method to achieve an output monitor of the track source selection, for the reason you stated.

Yes I do need to monitor the selected Cakewalk track inputs because I will use these selections to control the external analogue record matrix.  (This is partly for convenience of having source selection control from Cakewalk and also because I will record on to my analogue tape machine and to Cakewalk simultaneously).

So I tried to set up the parameters you suggested in point 2) of your reply but I cannot get it to work.  Here is what I did:-

1. I defined friendly names for my inputs in Cakewalk and enabled their use.

2. Under the 'Options' tab, I set up a new Software State called 'FriendlyNames' and added 'Unknown' plus all the friendly names (as they appear in the track source selection) - see Image-1

3. Under the Logic Tab, I added two additional actions to my remote control of Track 1 source selection:-

a. Text Value action - see Image 2

b. Set state by Value action with FriendlyNames set to <By text> - see Image 3

4. Under the Feedback tab I added different MIDI output values for some of the FriendlyNames - see Image 4

When I change the track 1 source select, I get no MIDI values outputted, so I must have made a mistake in the set up.

Could you tell me how to correct please.

Regards

Robert

Hello Rebert,

I do not think someone has ever tried to use it... So that was in fact inconsistent. Please download b404, MIDI action should be fixed there.

Note that the value sent is (current input)/(max number of inputs)*127. "0" means "No input". So the last possible input is "127", no input is "0" and other inputs are in-between.
Since the number of available inputs in concrete setup can vary, that is rather meaningless value...

I would recommend to use:
1) separate from Cakewalk Input parameter (as I have written before for all parameters which do not have equivalent in Cakewalk)
or (if for some reason you want Cakewalk Input)
2) (a) define Friendly Names for inputs in Cakewalk preferences and enable use of them
    (b) define Software Set with "Unknown" + all possible input names
    (c) in the monitor, first use Text Value action to get the name of input, then use State By Text to find correct state in the set (preset with Unknown, just in case...) and then use State conditions to send predictable MIDI messages for particular inputs.

Cheers,
Alexey.

Offline azslow3

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1318
Re: Using AZ Controller for Cakewalk control of external audio mixer
« Reply #33 on: August 05, 2020, 12:22:35 PM »
Sorry, there are some mistakes:
1) set "Monitor Parameter Value", not "Monitor Parameter Name" for the monitor: you want the name of value, not the name of parameter (which is always "Input"...)
2) remove "Set state" (last action) from Logic, everything happens in the Monitor (Feedback tab)
3) prior your actions in Feedback, add:
    (a) Text Value
    (b) Set state (as you did in logic)

Offline norfolkmastering

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Using AZ Controller for Cakewalk control of external audio mixer
« Reply #34 on: August 05, 2020, 02:45:36 PM »
Hello Alexey

I have tried to update to your instructions but still no MIDI outputs, so there still must be mistakes.

Please see Image-5, Image-6 and Image-7 attached.

Thanks for your help to get this sorted.

Regards

Robert

Sorry, there are some mistakes:
1) set "Monitor Parameter Value", not "Monitor Parameter Name" for the monitor: you want the name of value, not the name of parameter (which is always "Input"...)
2) remove "Set state" (last action) from Logic, everything happens in the Monitor (Feedback tab)
3) prior your actions in Feedback, add:
    (a) Text Value
    (b) Set state (as you did in logic)

Offline azslow3

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1318
Re: Using AZ Controller for Cakewalk control of external audio mixer
« Reply #35 on: Yesterday at 09:50:21 AM »
6+7 looks ok, but they are for "Knob 1" feedback... in 5 you have other control, without monitor (btw with Text action at the end, make no sense).

Offline norfolkmastering

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Hello Alexey

I found my mistake.  Because I had configured the logic tab - Parameter Value Monitor incorrectly, that control did not show at all under the Feedback tab and so I accidentally programmed the wrong Feedback control!

So now I corrected the mistake and it is working.

See images 8, 9, 10 and 11 for working configuration.

Can I ask a question please ...

Is there any way to get the source selection 'None' (i.e. no source) included? so I can output a unique code for this.  I tried including it in the Software Set.  Although I can select 'None' using an external rotary, I cannot get the feedback MIDI to work.  Any ideas?

Best regards

Robert




6+7 looks ok, but they are for "Knob 1" feedback... in 5 you have other control, without monitor (btw with Text action at the end, make no sense).